allowance of \$40 from the opening of the session to prorogation excepting days during an adjournment for a period of four or more continuous days.

The executive council of Manitoba is given in Appendix 8.

Saskatchewan. The government of Saskatchewan consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. On February 28, 1978 the Honourable C. Irwin McIntosh became lieutenant-governor. The statutory number of members of the legislative assembly is 61, elected for a maximum term of five years. As a result of the general election of October 1978, 44 New Democrats and 17 Progressive Conservatives were elected to form Saskatchewan's 19th legislature.

The premier receives \$29,348 and each cabinet minister \$22,078 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity and allowance. The leader of the opposition receives \$22,078 plus an office allowance of \$53,850 per annum. The speaker receives \$9,962

and the deputy speaker \$8,616.

Each member of the legislature is paid an annual indemnity of \$9,962, an expense allowance of \$8,885 and a sessional allowance of \$5,385, subject to a deduction of \$50 a day for days absent over five. Each of the members for the two northernmost constituencies of Athabasca and Cumberland receives an \$11,254 annual indemnity and a \$9,186 expense allowance. All members except members of the executive council and leaders of the opposition are entitled to an expense allowance of \$59 a day when attending a meeting of the assembly or of a legislative committee during a session. Government and opposition whips are paid an annual allowance of \$1,615 each and legislative secretaries an annual allowance of \$5,385 each.

The executive council of Saskatchewan is given in Appendix 8.

Alberta. In addition to the lieutenant-governor (since October 1979 the Honourable Frank Lynch-Staunton) the government of Alberta is composed of an executive council and a legislative assembly of 79 members elected for a maximum of five years. On March 14, 1979, 74 Progressive Conservatives, four members of the Social Credit party, and one of the New Democratic Party were elected to form the 19th legislature.

Each member of the legislative assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$21,000, a \$6,176 expense allowance and an amount not to exceed \$50 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. In addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, the speaker receives a salary of \$19,600 and the deputy speaker \$7,300. The salary of the leader of the opposition, in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, is \$32,000. The speaker, deputy speaker and leader of the opposition also receive an amount not to exceed \$50 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the sessional indemnity and allowance the premier receives \$39,300, other ministers \$32,000 and ministers without portfolio \$22,700. These figures have been in effect since November 1, 1979.

The executive council of Alberta is given in Appendix 8.

British Columbia. The government of British Columbia consists of a lieutenantgovernor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. On May 18, 1978 the Honourable Henry P. Bell-Irving took office as lieutenant-governor. The legislative assembly has 57 members who are elected for a term not to exceed five years. As at May 1980 the assembly consisted of 31 Social Credit members and 26 New Democrats.

Each member of the executive council and the legislative assembly receives an annual allowance of \$21,000 and an annual expense allowance of \$10,500. In addition, the premier is paid an annual salary of \$28,000, each cabinet minister with portfolio \$24,000 and each member of the executive council without portfolio \$21,000. The leader of the opposition and the speaker receive special expense allowances of \$19,000; the deputy speaker and the leader of a recognized political party, \$8,500.

The executive council of British Columbia is given in Appendix 8.

Territorial governments

3.6.2

Yukon. The constitution for the government of Yukon is based on two federal statutes: the Yukon Act (RSC 1970, c.Y-2) and the Government Organization Act (SC 1966,